A Cautionary Tale, and a Desperate Plea

Hello, and welcome back to Sundays in the Storage Unit!  I’m your hostess, Sarah, and my brave assistant is Chris.

This week we dove into some of the mysterious boxes labeled “China.”

I don’t know what this tiny owl was doing with the china, but it turns out to be a handy diagnostic tool.  Here’s the test – Does this owl utterly terrify you?  If you answered no, you might not be human or have a soul.

So that’s where the tiny ceramic tea kettle filled with teddy bears was hiding.  I’d been looking all over for that!

For those of you just tuning in now, no, these did not belong to my grandmother.  First of all, my GOOD grandmother had much better taste than this.  These tea cups all belonged to my Dad.

Gentle readers, this has all been fairly amusing up until this point, but now I have a serious message to deliver to you, through the next series of pictures.

OK, let’s recap.  In the boxes labeled “China,” Chris and I found not one, but TWO extremely tacky, possibly possessed porcelain figurines.  These figurines belonged to my Dad, a man who had a career as a lawyer and later a high school teacher, a man who liked guns, a man who did not like to eat at restaurants where you had to wait longer than 10 minutes for a table, a man who wore almost the exact same outfit every day – a suit with a dress shirt and a tie.

I lived with my Dad for over a year and I do not remember these things being on display anywhere.  I remember the rock and roll posters, the comic books, the regular books (good lord, the books …), the music, but not these awful things.

This is my plea – somewhere in your house, right now, there is something completely useless, something you never show anyone, something that hasn’t seen the light of day in years.  Please, get rid of it right now.  Do it for me, do it for yourself, do it for the poor slob who is going to have to comb through all of your possessions someday.

4 comments
  1. mechagrue said:

    Wow, thanks for this! I just threw away the plastic promotional travel coffee mug someone gave me years ago.

    I hardly ever use the NICE travel mug I own… I have never used one made of plastic, and would definitely not walk around with a mug emblazoned with some random company’s name. Kept it anyway, because ??????

    • Glad you found the inspiration to purge a useless item! Of all the myriad mugs my Dad had accumulated, I only kept one for myself – it’s the mug with his high school mascot on it. I use it almost daily.

  2. Sally said:

    Dear Sarah. I’ve been chuckling away to myself as I read the section on China. I particularly enjoyed the comments about the owl and the possibility that the figurines might be possessed. You have a lovely, light and cheerful way of writing about what I think must be a very hard task to do. Keep going and keep blogging. You are inspiring others and making us think about our own possessions and whether getting rid of them might be a good idea. In fact I’m off now to put that not very tasteful vase in the pile for the charity shop, along with the lamp that’s lovely but I don’t have room for it and the pile of books that i’ve read and will never read again! As you say better to give things way now that leave them for somebody else to deal with.

  3. I love that owl, it’s adorable!
    That said, I’m sorry you’re going through this. I’ve been there with my dad’s stuff and my mother in laws things. It sucks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

